Humpty Dumpty – How do you cook your eggs?

October 2, 2009 at 10:14 am 6 comments

I often refer to my style of raising kids as something from a Three Ring Circus!  Why not have fun every chance you get.  Scrambled eggs is such a simple breakfast.  Kids love cracking eggs and mixing, but have you ever done it this way? 
I took out 4 eggs, quickly drew some faces – asking first how Humpty might be feeling.  We didn’t really want a happy face now did we!  We needed a wall – the tall plastic cup was good for this.  We needed a plate for the eggs to fall onto, we didn’t want to be wasteful.  Finally a microwave bowl and fork to make the scrambled eggs.    The pictures tell the rest of the story……
Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall. - Zoes Turn

Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall. - Zoes Turn

 

Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall - Riley's Turn

Humpty Dumpty sat on the wall - Riley's Turn


Humpty Dumpty had a great fall!

Humpty Dumpty had a great fall!


Humpty Dumpty had a great fall!

Humpty Dumpty had a great fall!


All the Kings horses and all the Kings men, couldn't put Humpty together again.

All the Kings horses and all the Kings men, couldn't put Humpty together again.

 

So we put him in a bowl, added milk and microwaved some scrambled eggs.
So we put him in a bowl, added milk and microwaved some scrambled eggs.

This was a delicious breakfast, took next to no time, my kids were delighted and started the day happy and well nourished.   What more can we ask for as parents?

 Language used – crack, eggs, stir, mix, cook, orange, yellow, happy, sad, angry, WORRIED!

Entry filed under: Kids in the Kitchen. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

My Prince – Where did the first year go? WHY WOMEN SHOULDN’T TAKE MEN SHOPPING

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Hi,
    Another good design for boiled eggs is to make faces/ hair out of hundreds & thousands ! Your cousins weren’t too fussed on boiled eggs so Uncle Steve pain stakingly put their faces on for a few weeks to get them interested ! ha ‘Goofy but worked’

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  October 7, 2009 at 11:25 am

    p.s The kids are gorgeous & getting so… big !
    Luv & Hugs to all !
    Marie

    Reply
  • […] it and my kids and I usually eat there. Earlier today the kids helped me to prepare rissoles, we humpty dumptied an egg, added some flavours, mixed /squished in the mince and Zoe helped me roll it into tiny balls. […]

    Reply
  • 4. Johanna Baker-Dowdell  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:24 am

    What a great idea! I’ll be trying this with my eldest son to see if I can get him to be a bit more interested in eggs!

    Thanks for the link.

    Reply
  • 5. Michelle (What's Cooking)  |  December 11, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    This is such a cute idea. I love that you gave them each a little face. The ones that are frowning look so sad when they are broken – it’s perfect!

    Reply
  • 6. robina_love  |  December 13, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    I love it! but my older kids are allergic, so sadly can’t do. and my two year old loves eggs as much as I do … and has worked out how much fun they are to break … I’d better not do this one for a couple of years, or there’ll be no eggs left in the house! lol great idea tho’, we will do later on 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


