Doing the laundry.

October 6, 2009 at 8:14 pm 3 comments

Zoe helping her daddy.
Zoe helping her daddy.

For some reason unknown to me chores are fun.  Especially in the laundry! From a young age both of my children have helped with the laundry.  There is a machine to fill with water, powder to sprinkle, a dryer that spins round and round; and if you’re lucky you can open the door and fill it with stuff when mum is not looking (always fun!)   Zoe found passing pegs a treat when she was 11 months old and still at 2.  Now that she is 3 things are different, she now passes clothes and Riley passes the pegs. 

 

I now have two helpers.

I now have two helpers.

Riley currently finds it so much fun to put his dirty clothing into the basket (along with anything else he finds along the way).  I can ask him to put anything in there and off he toddles, pops it in and come back so proud.  Zoe loves it if I empty the wash basket onto the laundry floor so that she can put the items into the machine.  If Riley is there he will pass her things to put into the machine too. 

 

Riley and the grey water hose

Riley and the grey water hose

We listen out to the end of the wash cycle so that we can go out and hose the lawn.  We don’t have a rainwater tank so grey water is the next best thing.  Riley waits at the door to get his hose and off he goes.  Every single time wets himself along with the grass and yard toys.  If I am organised enough he goes out in his swimmers but most of the time he is still in his pj’s (normally 7:30 so it’s not so bad).  We set the hose up in a different location for the rinse cycle and do it all again.  The days that I have more than one load to do are extra special.

 In the afternoon, I pop Riley into the swing, or he walks around the yard while I bring the washing in.  I pass it to Zoe and she sorts it into piles.  Hers, his and mine.  We then go inside and put it all away.  If we have cloths she will fold them and put them into their container on the kitchen bench.    Luckily my husband knows how to do his own laundry. 

 

How do your kids help with the laundry?  What ages did they take on different responsibilities?

Entry filed under: In, Kids, Out. Tags: , .

Water Play Time for a Joke – Talkin’ Big.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marney  |  October 7, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    This a n amusing anecdote. Harrison would climb onto the washing machine by digging his toes in. About a month ago he stuffed the washing machine with all sorts of clothes and poured in half a bottle of laundry detergent! He said he wanted me to have asurprise when the clothes were extra clean. We obviously had to drain the water and start again.
    Harrison gets paid 10 cents a minute for jobs he does really well. Thats how he gets his pocket money. Minimum wage divided by 60

    Reply
  • 2. Rizoleey  |  October 7, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Could you imagine the bubble coming out of it. Nice that he likes to help though.

    Reply
  • 3. June Ross  |  October 10, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Itis amazing looking at the photo of Riley helping with the washing reminds me of the lovely photo taken of his grandfather Dennis when he was about 2 or 2.5 yrs. Being much older than my brother I remember so many things about him from the minute he came home.
    As for my son and daughter, being brought up in Hotels they more or less didn’t have to do anything, other than ring for breakfast each morning. Mind you it took quite sometime for them to settle into living in a house when they were Grades 6 & 7 respectively.
    Fortunately now they both enjoy cooking and as they both live alone in different parts of the world it gives me an opportunity to travel and visit. Aunty June

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


