According to the TV– We’re not good enough! Ha!! We’re Better!

October 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm 1 comment

 I sometimes get to turn on the TV early enough in the day, you know when the morning chat shows are on and all the psychologists and parenting experts want to give their two bobs worth. These shows are great for making the majority of society feel pretty bad. They constantly focus on body image, especially of celebrities who in my opinion are not real people. Then they spend a great deal of time telling us how we should live our lives.

The thing that bugs me the most though is the constant references made to the value of sitting around the dinner table of an evening eating a meal together. For a long time I got caught up in the importance of it and it made me miserable. I felt as though my family was not good enough. We don’t eat together. So what!!!   My husband often leaves for work at 3pm this is a usual thing at least 3 times a week, sometimes 5.

Lately I have started doing things differently. We now live in a house that has a great big kitchen bench. I purchased 3 barstools to place along it and my kids and I usually eat there. Earlier today the kids helped me to prepare rissoles, we humpty dumptied an egg, added some flavours, mixed /squished in the mince and Zoe helped me roll it into tiny balls. We took them outside to cook on the bbq while we played, making cleaning up so much easier later on. I often cook on the bbq in the afternoon on the nights I’m going it alone, cooking something that is tasty served cold or easily reheated.

Dinner Time

Dinner Time

Come dinnertime tonight my kids sat on one side of the kitchen bench on stool and I sat on the kitchen side. We played a lovely game of eat as we go. I opened the fridge, pulled something out, hid it under the towel and we talked about the food, Zoe felt it, described as best as she could what it might be, smelt it and then we gave Riley a turn. Straight to the mouth, skin and all. We cut open the food, describing the texture of the food, the stickiness of the flesh, was it crunchy or perhaps juicy. For dinner we worked our way through a mango, avocado, some rissoles with different sauces, a pineapple ring, celery, carrot, cucumber, lettuce, and some bread.

 

Since playing this game with my kids of an evening I have no longer been rushed to make dinner while trying to supervise them doing another activity. We don’t have any waste (well not much), as we stop cutting when we have had enough of a particular item. I clean as I go so there is minimal mess at the end. My kids are excited at being involved in the process and they are actively engaging in a worthwhile learning experience. While we don’t do it every night, sometime we make a “proper meal”, my kids love doing it this way. From a health perspective they are taking time to chew the food, and let it fill their stomachs, they let me know when they have had enough. I think I am on a winner here.

As for Dad, Mum and the two kids sitting and sharing a meal, well we sometimes do that too. But on the nights my husband works, I no longer get bothered by not sitting around the table talking about what we all did that day – we know what we did because we all did it together.

Do you have any special mealtime activities or special ways of including your kids in meal preparations?

Entry filed under: Kids in the Kitchen, Whinge Time.

Cakes, Cakes and More Cakes. On ya bike!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. SquiggleMum  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Nic I think you make a good point. It’s lovely when families can eat together, but sometimes it just can’t happen!! We only get to eat dinner together on weekends, so we aim to have breakfast together instead. We eat simple meals in the evening because I too am flying solo. I think being a good parent is about making good choice for your kids based on their needs and your circumstances. On that criteria… you’re doing great, so forget those morning shows and keep enjoying your fun mealtimes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


