On ya bike!

October 18, 2009 at 8:27 pm Leave a comment

Shane with Zoe, My Mum with Zoe and Riley with Me.

Shane with Zoe, My Mum with Zoe and Riley with Me.

I love to ride bikes; I always have and probably always will. I’m not fast, hills are avoided if possible and repairs are left for others to do. Still I find nothing more enjoyable than looking around various places from the seat of my bike. With the sun on my face and fresh air to breath it is a great way to unwind at the end of a long day.

I once rode my bike to and from school every day. As I got older I got busier and it was so much easier to hop into my car, silly thing is I was getting in my car to go to work to pay for the car and to pay for gym fees. I could have just gone riding!  A few years down the track I went back to riding, this time to work along the Barkley Highway in Mt Isa, along side road trains – not so peaceful or relaxing, more like a fast scary ride at an amusement park. A few years on again and I had moved house, got busy and the bike was away again.

Bike path at the end of our suburb.

Bike path at the end of our suburb.

It is my birthday in a couple of weeks time, and for my birthday I got a bike. We got it early to break it in before going on holidays. Yes I am lucky, a bike and holiday for my birthday. My husband got a bike for Christmas last year and he was taking Zoe for rides all the time. Riley had a couple of goes and loved it. The decision to get a new bike was easy. We all loved riding. So far we have been around the suburb we live in and out to the river twice. My chain has fallen off once and Riley has fallen asleep. We discovered a great path going along the river and starts less than 1km from our front door. There is a beautiful park and birds to feed. I am so glad that we are spending quality time together as a family. I am even happier that it is over physical recreation too. Hopefully a good example being set for my kids.

Do you have a favourite bike friendly ride you could recommend?  Please be kind – fitness is not my friend at the moment.  What ways do your family keep fit together?

Entry filed under: About.

According to the TV– We’re not good enough! Ha!! We’re Better! Safe Enough!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


