Magic Drops of Colour.

November 6, 2009 at 11:17 am 4 comments

IMG_5391

Magic Drops

I could have written a blog about cupcake making, but we all know how to make a cake? (I hope!), I could have written a blog about playdough, but there seems to be quite a few great ones floating around already. What I do want to write about is the little magic drops of colour that make these activities and many more so much fun.

A while back my daughter and I were playing about with colours. We decided to add a few drops to a glass of water to see what would happen. I knew what would happen. She had a fair idea on some colours from our previous cake making experiences but being able to do it herself was a whole new experience. She put a red drop in and the water turned red, we divided this water into 3 cups left one red, added yellow to one and blue to another. Soon we had red, orange and purple water. We did this again starting with yellow and then with blue. Eventually we had cups containing all three primary colours and more cups containing the secondary colours. Finally we poured all the containers of water back into the jug and guess what happened? Our pretty colours turned brown! It took next to no time to do, was inexpensive, fun and she learnt something.

With this knowledge we (she) wanted to create more things using food dye. To the pantry we went. I looked about and ideas were sparking in my mind. So much to use – I decided on macaroni.

We took some macaroni, cups, spoons, food dye, paper towel, glue and paper out the back. We added the pasta to the cups, added the drops of dye and mixed it all up. We put in onto paper towel to dry and finally it was ready to use. Out came the paper and colouring in pages. Zoe added PVA glue to the paper and created her own picture and she also used the macaroni to decorate the colouring in page.

Macaroni art

Macaroni Art

Some other activities you may like to try with food dye are:

Sand art (similar to macaroni art)
Rice art (similar to macaroni art)
Salt art (similar to macaroni art)
Playdough, a colour per week or divide the mixture part way and make a few colours
Colourful ice cubes to put in a glass of water on a hot summers day
Blue dye in mash potato to create a pool of water to add fish bites
Green dye in mash potato for a mountain to stand broccoli trees in
Cupcakes – see photos below – matching patty papers, to coloured cake mix, to coloured icing.

cupcakes

Colourful Cupcakes

If you have created one or more of the above activities and want to add a link below please do or let me know and I will add it to the blog. Also if you have some more activities using food colours let me know I would love to give them a go.

Entry filed under: Kids, Kids in the Kitchen.

Zoom Zoom Zoom Are you a helicopter mum or a coffee mum?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eva  |  November 7, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Those cupcakes look great!! I have yet to try mixing colours with my daughter, and I know she will love it 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Fern  |  November 14, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Wonderful ideas! They now also make the same brand in 100% natural colours which is awesome for kids like my son with artificial colouring intolerances. It’s amazing how the simplest ideas can often be the most exciting and educational for a child.

    Reply
    • 3. Rizoleey  |  November 14, 2009 at 8:28 pm

      Thanks for that, I will have a look for some. I have sooooo many packs of the others, all missing red/pink since miss 3 thinks most things should be pink, that I have not looked in quite some time. I have the king size red lol.

      Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  January 3, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Thanks for the idea Nicole. Mark did the coloured dye in glasses of water experiment with Grace. She loved it. She then went on to mix her paint colours together to see if she got a similar result. The end result – yes a lovely colour of brown! We have coloured our pikelet mixtures before and displayed the pikelets as a rainbow for serving. We call them rainbow pikelets.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


