Our Christmas Traditions

November 30, 2009 at 12:24 pm 7 comments

Christmas 2008 - What will this years look like?

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas
Toys in ev’ry store
But the prettiest sight to see is the holly that will be
On your own front door.

We are slowly making our own traditions here in the Carr household. It will be our 4th Christmas with our own children and the 2nd Christmas with our completed family. The first week in December we have our family photo taken, with Santa Clause. We put up the Christmas tree, all of the ornaments, figurines, train track and lights. Outside is not forgotten either; there are lights and a tree for the back veranda too. There really is just something special about this time of the year.

Zoe is doing what 3 year olds do best and that is question each and every possible thing. Will Santa come, when will Santa come? What will he bring? To the more unusual such as tonight’s question. Does Santa have a bed? What colour is his bed? She is so into Christmas and I love it. Riley is just amazed at all the new things he can see around the house. The look on his face as he watched the tree light up for the first time was priceless. He squealed in delight as the train went around and around under the tree and through the legs of the lounge chair. And then again at the Santa and his candle moving from side to side and the carollers singing in the snow. Don’t touch is slowly being understood. However it is early days and we are strongly considering removing the train ‘till next year.

We have our advent calendar ready to open everyday in the countdown to the big day. I really think this helps little ones with knowing exactly how far away Christmas day is. Decorations come out so early in the year, in some stores they were out in October, no wonder it gets so confusing for the kids. Anyhow we have a wooden calendar to take out and have done for the past couple of years it is full of Christmas toys to decorate Santa’s room. I prefer this over the chocolate a day calendars at all the shops.

Our Christmas bear is one of my favourite traditions we started. Both children have a Christmas bear with the year they were born sewn onto it. Each year we plan on having the kids sit next to each other with the same bear just to show how much they have really grown.

The kids have their own tree, In the playroom they can hang all the decorations they like on it. Home made snowmen beads and Santa. It is sitting on top of the TV in the playroom, as I don’t want Riley to tear up the little snowmen Zoe made when she was a baby. It looks like a kids tree and Zoe had a wonderful time decorating it. As did I decorating the family tree in the living room. Zoe helped by passing me the pieces to go on the tree, she counted out bows and balls but this tree is just a bit to hard for her to do at the moment and a bit of OCD comes out in me and I like it to look balanced. If I am going to look at something morning noon and night I want it to look good.

We have prepared the feature wall in the playroom, our ocean holiday theme is away and we now have a Christmas boarder and tinsel hanging ready to place all of our wonderful Christmas crafts on. We will be making snowmen, Santa, reindeers, bells, trees, you name it if it has anything to do with a commercial Christmas it will be there. This year for the first time I will be helping my daughter to make a nativity scene too. It is something we have never done as a family before however Zoe has been participating in some religious activities this year and took a liking to the Joseph, Mary and their baby, dressing as the characters the other day with a tea towel on her head. She didn’t quite get it and insisted that the baby is a girl, or should be a girl. Who am I to argue?

At the end of the month is Christmas day, the culminating day of all the wonderful activities we have been doing. The giving of the gifts we took so long to choose, wrap and hide away. The visiting of family across town, swimming in pools, eating way too much food and hopefully having a good night sleep.

I will be blogging our Christmas adventures every couple of days. I hope you check back to see what we are doing.

Entry filed under: About, Kids.

Trust Apparently we are now living inside a grade 1 classroom!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kirsty  |  November 30, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    I love the idea of the kids having their own Christmas tree! I’m a little OCD myself when it comes to the tree lol I don’t have kids but my Canadian other half and I decorate the tree together, then when he isn’t looking I take everything off and re-do it the ‘right’ way myself 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Narelle Nettelbeck  |  December 1, 2009 at 9:54 am

    We let our children decorate our tree, it’s not perfect but there’s a lot of love there!! Not sure I’m into the idea of letting the kids have a tree of their own, we just taught our children not to touch the tree and they don’t.

    Reply
    • 4. Rizoleey  |  December 1, 2009 at 3:57 pm

      Oh my kids know dont touch the big tree, it has lights and breakable things on it. It is in the middle of the family room. I just did not want them to decorate it. I know it sounds heartless but their things have taken over the whole house, playroom, loungeroom, bed rooms, the whole of outside, I love them dearly. This christmas tree is in the only little space I have in the house. I dont go anywhere else to work so I need a bit of kid free room for an hour or two a day.

      Reply
  • 5. Simone  |  December 2, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    What lovely ideas!
    I must admit I am a control freak with my tree too. I let the kids help put it up and put on the old decorations, then when they go to bed I rearrange and pull out the real decorations. They never notice and everyone is happy! (And my beautiful glass bobbles last another year!)

    Reply
  • 6. Kelly Burstow  |  December 12, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I think Christmas traditions are so important. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 7. michelledevans  |  December 20, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Gorgeous pics! I loved decorating the tree after the kids were put to bed but for the last 2 years they helped me and this year I let them go for it (ages 9, 8, and 6 while miss 2 was sleeping). The tree is still lovely, lopsided, bottom heavy but they love it. I’m trying not to be so ocd about it…letting go…
    Great post. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


email image

Nicole Carr


Rizoleey = Riley + Zoe
I loved writing a diary for both of my children during their first year, I also made them a wonderful scrapbook of photos. Since my son turned 1 I needed a new avenue to express my creativity - Blogging combines my love of scrapbooking, kids activities, photography and writing.
I hope you enjoy taking a peek at our lives.

Lilypie Fourth Birthday tickers
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Daisypath Christmas tickers

Categories


